Be True & Be Proud

I’m proud of my mom. She should be proud of herself too. She had the bravery to accept who she is, even when it must have been the hardest thing she ever had to do. She stepped out of the closet and into her own light.

She risked not having her family accept her. She risked not having her sister, her parents, her friends, her children, and neighbors accept her.  This was a time when gay people got beat up all the time.  A time when AIDS was a major epidemic and when people spoke openly and terribly about gays. A time when little girls could no longer be friends with other little girls who’s parents were gay and a kid at my school had to have a one on one teacher because he had two dads and fought anyone who said anything to him about it.  I’m sad to say that I allowed intolerant people to shape the way I saw my mom and myself.

My mom faced all of that and she still went through with it because she knew she wasn’t truly being herself. I assume because she could no longer live an unfulfilling life. As someone who is creating the person I want to become, I’m happy she went through it. Although, I may not have realized it until now, she paved the way for me. She made it easier for me to break out and want to be my own person. I learned how to be tolerant of people different from me.

I am so happy for how much the world has changed.  Same sex marriage is legal. Same sex benefits are provided by some major companies, including my own.  I see kids at my daughter’s school with 2 moms. Most of the people I meet, don’t even bat an eye when I say my mom is a lesbian and that she and her partner have an 8 year old son, my amazing brother Nate.

As the great Bob Marley said, “Love the life you live. Live the life you love.”  I’m done letting other people tell me how I should live my life.  As long as I’m not hurting anyone, I don’t believe anyone has the right to tell me I shouldn’t love the life I live just because they don’t agree with or understand it.

2 thoughts on “Be True & Be Proud

Leave a comment